And so it begins…

12 Feb

I blogged once many moons ago.  I loved it, too.  But life kept throwing up on me, and I let it fall by the wayside.  I debated on picking up where I left off there but decided against it for a few reasons.  There was no way that I could accurately recap the almost 18 months that I had missed, and I am too anal to leave that huge gap undone.  But mostly, I decided to start anew because my first blog was deeply personal and something that I didn’t intend to share with everyone I knew.  It was my therapy during pregnancy and miscarriages.  I sent friends there when they suffered losses like ours, and it gave my mother and my husband a chance to know my heart without my having to say words aloud.

I am doing this now because I occasionally have someone tell me that I need to write a book, but heavens, I wouldn’t know where to start on that.  And my friend Katy frequently tells me I should be on stage, but I would probably puke from nerves.  One of my life’s joys is having people laugh at my stories, and I am hoping that through this I can maybe get some of them down for posterity.  (I for sure want to get the Walmart/Mormon/Goldfish Assault story written out at some point.)

In order to make this blog work now, I need to bring up a few things.

1. Accountability is crucial here, guys.  I mean, don’t expect me to crank these puppies out every day, but you can prod me a bit when I am slacking.  But only if you are willing to provide free childcare in order for me to write.

2. It needs to be said that regardless of how much I am threatening to drive the mini-van into the ocean, I am not really going to.  For one, I am a long way from an ocean, and I am too cheap to spend that kind of money on gas.  Plus, I know that Matt wouldn’t get insurance money if I did that, and he deserves compensation for the past decade.  Sarcasm and dramatization are just my go-to coping mechanisms.

3. My level of blessing is insanely high, and I know it.  Trust me, I treasure my children.  (They are all quiet as I am typing which makes it easy to say that.)  I know that there are people who would give an awful lot to live a life with a mortgage, a husband, and three kids.  If I didn’t have those things, then I would be one of those people.  So please, don’t assume my feeble attempts at humor are in any way my wishing away the life God has given me.  I honestly wouldn’t trade it.  (I do however frequently ask the Lord for more naps.  And a house keeper.  But I digress…)

So, there it is.  My first post.  We will see how this goes.

bas

One Response to “And so it begins…”

  1. Robyn February 12, 2013 at 2:32 am #

    Can’t wait for more. Everything I read from you, I think….golly she sounds like me! LOVE the humor and wit! Good luck, and bring it!

Leave a Reply

