Seeing the Baby Jesus

20 Nov

Yesterday afternoon, the kids and I went to Hobby Lobby with my mother.  With the exception of my older children running out in front of a car in the parking lot, it was a relatively tame trip.  However, I did want to go ahead for posterity’s sake and get a record of a couple of things.

As we were pulling into the parking lot, Mother and I were chatting away about who knows what.  Before the car was even fully stopped in a parking space, the following conversation occurred.
Aaron: “Hey, y’all stop that up there.”
Me: “Stop what, Aaron?”
Aaron: “Y’all need to stop talking up there.  I want to get out of my car seat, and y’all talking is NOT helping get me out of my car seat!”

Upon our entrance into the store, my children had to stop and “ooh” and “aah” appropriately over the large nativity scene by the doors.  They always enjoy seeing that, and it is difficult to tear them away.  Fast forward towards the end of the excursion.  They had multiple lines open, each at least 3 deep with customers.  We got into one of the lines and immediately, Norah takes off towards the door.  I called her name and told her not to run off in the crowd.  She stopped dead in her tracks, turned around and put a hand out in front of her, and said, “Mom, I am just going to see the Baby Jesus, okay?”  I can just hear her on a therapist’s couch in 20 years… My mother chastised me for going to see the Lord!  

Oh, heaven help me with these kids!!!

Leave a Reply

