The Name Game (aka My OCD is Showing)

21 Feb

***The boys’ first names are finally revealed at the end of the post!***

With every one of my pregnancies, we have had a full girl name (or most recently 2 girl names) picked out pretty much from the get go.  Boy names however have always been a struggle for us.  So, the thought of having to come up with 2 boy names has been a cause of stress for me for the past few months.  I’m a planner, so I wanted to go into our gender ultrasound with boy names picked out even before we even knew what they were.  In every discussion, Matt only had one name that he liked.  That’s it.  And, it just so happens that the only name he liked is one that I do not.  Well, it isn’t even that I don’t like the name, but I once knew a guy by that name who I really didn’t care for.  You know how that goes.

Anyway.  Another huge hurdle we had to cross is the fact that I am far too OCD for my own good and have a lot of name rules and guidelines that are totally self-imposed and most probably ridiculous.  But, I can’t get rid of them.  I just can’t so don’t try to make me.  I’m a wack-o.  I know it, so let’s just move on.

(As a side note–please know that if you didn’t/don’t plan to follow my crazy rules on kid naming, I will not judge you.  Don’t justify your choice to me.  You should name your child what you are happy with, and I will not look down on you.  Except if you want to name your son John Johnson.  I will probably totally judge that.)

  1. First names cannot end with an -s or an -s sound.  Our last name starts with S, and I just don’t like the sounds running together.
  2. If one of the names starts with a vowel, then both of them must start with a vowel.  Since Aaron and Isaac start with vowels, I just don’t want one boy to be the odd one out.
  3. I would prefer that they both be only 2 syllables and only 5 letters.  Norah, Aaron, Isaac… see the pattern there?  As neurotic as it sounds, I want to keep it.
  4. If Rule #3 can’t be met for both of them, then I don’t want it met for either of them.  Again, I am weird about one being the odd one out.
  5. Either both names are Biblical or neither of them are for the same logic as #2.
  6. No one syllable first names since our last name is 1 syllable.
  7. Whatever their first name is, that is what they will be called.  I don’t want their names to be easily shortened or have super common nicknames.  Being someone who goes by her first and middle name, I have always been a stickler about this one.  When my kids are sitting in the waiting room at the doctor, I just want the name called out to actually be what they are called.
  8. I would prefer that the twins names’ not really sound like twin names or rhyme.  I have had several people who are a twin advise me on this one, and I figure they ought to know.
  9. No odd spellings.  I don’t want them to have their names misspelled for the rest of their lives.

Now, here is the really crazy thing… our girl names actually did not follow all of these rules and I was actually ok about it because I fell in love with them when I was pregnant with Aaron and Isaac and before things like the 5 letter, 2 syllable precedent had been set.  Also, with the 3 kids we already have, they don’t totally follow these rules either.  For example, Norah does get her name misspelled some (Nora/Norah) but it is a pretty simple remedy.  (Hey, can you add an H to my name tag?  Thanks!)  And for some reason, I actually do at home sometimes call Isaac by a nickname for Isaac but not in public or even enough that people would actually start using it.

Alright, so with all of that, I am excited to say that we FINALLY do actually (and miraculously) have first names picked out for the boys.  And with the possible exception of the nickname thing, the actually do follow my rules, I think.  If they don’t, PLEASE don’t point it out to me.

So, without further ado… Smith kid #4 is Henry and Smith kid #5 is Nolan! Next hurdle?  Middle names.  And you don’t need to suggest any because I already have 2 great ones picked out and Matt has some picked out, so I just have to figure out how to convince him that mine are better.  🙂

2 Responses to “The Name Game (aka My OCD is Showing)”

  1. Rae February 21, 2014 at 8:20 pm #

    Yay! Great job! I love those names! Now, with the rest of your free time (snicker), could you pick names for us, please? We’re kinda stuck at the moment. Doesn’t help that we don’t want to know gender until the baby is born. But you picked two great names, what’s two more? 🙂

  2. Becky Jo West December 6, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

    Girl! OCD is an understatement! However, I totally understand. I am that way about other things. I did not think this much about my children’s names. Consequently, our son, Ben, has been asked if he’s “been west lately” all of his life. My husband just wanted to have a son who had the same initials as him and his dad, and we both liked Benjamin David West. Maybe we should have thought a little more about it. LOL

Leave a Reply

